Manage environments
Environments are managed from the Environments module: creation, labels, deployment order and deletion.
Before you begin
- Have a role that allows creating, editing and deleting an environment (Advanced Builder or Company Owner) — see Permissions — Organization and administration.
View the list
- Click Environments in the main menu.
Create an environment
- Click Add an environment.
- Fill in the form:
| Field | Required? | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Name | Yes | Identifies the environment in lists and in deployment (e.g. dev, staging, prod). |
| Description | No | Details for the team. |
| Type | Depending on the screen | Label Development, Other environments (staging, preprod…) or Production (or equivalent) for default behavior and display. |
- Click Save.
You can create and configure as many environments as needed.
Environment types
The Development, Other environments (staging, preprod…) and Production labels are used to:
- execute by default in an environment (test nodes use the development environment by default);
- better visualize the environment you are working on;
- determine the scope of permissions — see Roles and permissions.
In triggers, you can combine the environment and dictionary variables: depending on the environment on which the trigger is executed, circumstantial variables (URLs, identifiers…) are automatically used.
Environment order
In the table, arrows let you change the order of environments. This order drives the deployment of your workflows into these environments — see Deploy a workflow.
Edit an environment
- Open the environment.
- Edit the information.
- Click Save.
Delete an environment
Deleting an environment also deletes all associated deployments. This action is irreversible.
- Open the environment.
- Click Delete.
- Click Confirm.
What you get
A created environment appears in the Environments list and can host the deployments of your workflows.